

The Senate STATE CAPITOL HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813

Media Release November 7, 2012 Media Contact: Caroline Julian/586-6261

HONOLULU -- Maui State Senator Shan S. Tsutsui (Sen. District 5) has once again been elected as the President of the Senate and will preside during the 27th Hawaii State Legislature, which will convene on January 16, 2013. Senator Donna Mercado Kim (Sen. District 14) will also continue to serve as Senate Vice President and Chair of the Senate Committee on Tourism and Government Operations and Special Committee on Accountability. Senator David Ige (Sen. District 16) will continue as Chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means, with Senator Michelle Kidani (Sen. District 18) serving as his Vice Chair.

The Senate acted quickly to organize after the November 6, 2012, General Election, with a primary goal of promoting an environment of cooperation and shared leadership and authority. While much of leadership and committee chairmanships remained unchanged from the 26th Legislature, additional standing committees were established to provide greater scrutiny over important subject matter areas, as well as to provide a greater number of Senators the experience and authority to preside as committee chairs and vice chairs.

"The Senate would like to buck the trend across the country of faction-based and partisan politics, which has too often delayed or stalled progress on important initiatives. By sharing the power amongst more Senators, we hope to foster a more cooperative institution that can focus on and work towards the resolution of our most pressing issues," said Senate President Tsutsui.

"We are excited to have reached agreement so quickly. This will allow us to focus our attention on the issues and begin preparations for the 2013 session," said Senator Ige.

A complete listing of Senate Leadership and Committee Chairmanships is as follows:

President	Shan S. Tsutsui
Vice President	Donna Mercado Kim
Majority Leader	Brickwood Galuteria
Ways and Means, Chair	David Ige
Ways and Means, Vice Chair	Michelle Kidani

Majority Floor Leader	Will Espero
Majority Caucus Leader	Ron Kouchi
Majority Policy Leader	Les Ihara, Jr.
Majority Whip	Gil Kahele
Majority Whip	Jill Tokuda
Judiciary and Labor, Chair	Clayton Hee
Commerce and Consumer Protection, Chair	Roz Baker
Agriculture, Chair	Clarence Nishihara
Arts and Technology, Chair	Glenn Wakai
Economic Development and Housing, Chair	Donovan Dela Cruz
Energy and Environment, Chair	Mike Gabbard
Education, Chair	Jill Tokuda
Hawaiian Affairs, Chair	Brickwood Galuteria
Health, Chair	Josh Green, M.D.
Higher Education, Chair	Brian Taniguchi
Human Services, Chair	Suzanne Chun Oakland
Public Safety and Military Affairs, Chair	Will Espero
Special Committee on Accountability, Chair	Donna Mercado Kim
Tourism and Government Operations, Chair	Donna Mercado Kim
Transportation & International Affairs, Chair	J. Kalani English
Water and Land, Chair	Malama Solomon

###